Motor System II: Basal Ganglia

The term “basal ganglia” originally included the deep telencephalic nuclei: the caudate, putamen, globus pallidus, the claustrum, and nucleus accumbens) The globus pallidus and putamen are lens-shaped and are called lenticular nuclei. Collectively, the putamen and caudate are called the corpus striatum. Additional structures now included within this group are the substantia nigra, the subthalamic nuclei, the ventral tegmental area. and the ventral pallidum. One is very familiar with disease of the basal ganglia due to the widespread presence of Parkinson’s disease with its tremor at rest.


Basal Ganglion Substantia Nigra Ventral Tegmental Area Lewy Body Essential Tremor 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC 2008

Personalised recommendations