Differential Ability Scales (DAS)

  • Randy W. Kamphaus


The Differential Ability Scales (DAS; Elliott, 1990c) is a comprehensive battery of cognitive and achievement tests that are designed for children and adolescents between the ages of 2 1/2 and 17 years. The DAS is a revision and U.S. adaptation of the British Ability Scales (BAS; Elliott, Murray, & Pearson, 1979). There were, however, several changes made in the DAS from its progenitor. In addition to the collection of the U.S. normative sample, several new subtests were developed and a standard “core” battery was created. The DAS Cognitive Battery has both a preschool level (see Chapter 15) and a schoolage level. For school-aged children, there are also reading, mathematics, and spelling achievement tests that are described primarily as “screeners.” All of these measures were normed on the same sample to make the comparison of cognitive and achievement domains more appropriate (see Chapter 14).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, Inc. 2005

Authors and Affiliations

  • Randy W. Kamphaus
    • 1
  1. 1.Dept. of Educational PsychologyUniversity of GeorgiaAthensUSA

Personalised recommendations