Reduced Complexity Sliding Window BCJR Decoding Algorithms for Turbo Codes

  • Jihye Gwak
  • Sooyoung KimShin
  • Hyung-Myung Kim
Conference paper
Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 1746)


In decoding the turbo codes, the sliding window BCJR algorithm, derived from the BCJR algorithm, permits a continuous decoding of the coded sequence without requiring trellis termination of the constituent codes and uses reduced memory span. However, the number of computations required is greater than that of BCJR algorithm. In this paper, we propose an efficient sliding window type scheme which maintains the advantages of the conventional sliding window algorithm, reduces its computational burdens, and improves its BER performance by allowing the window to be forwarded in multi-step. Simulation results show that the proposed scheme outperforms the conventional sliding window BCJR algorithm with reduced complexity.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    C. Berrou, A. Glavieux, and P. Thitimajshma, „Near Shannon limit error-correction coding and decoding: Turbo-codes,“ in Proc. ICC, pp. 1064–1070, Geneva, Switzerland, May 1993.Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    S. Benedetto, D. Divsalar, G. Montorsi, and F. Pollara, „Soft-output decoding algorithms for continuous decoding of parallel concatenated convolutional codes,“ in Proc. ICC, pp. 112–117, Dallas, U. S. A., June 1996.Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    P. Robertson, „Illuminating the structure of code and decoder of parallel concatenated recursive systematic (turbo) codes,“ in Proc. GLOBECOM, pp. 1298–1303, San Francisco, U. S. A., Nov. 1994.Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    F. Hemmati and D.J. Costello, Jr., „Truncation error probability in Viterbi decoding,“ IEEE Trans. Commun., vol. 25, pp. 530–532, May 1977.zbMATHCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    S. Lin and D.J. Costello, Jr., Error Control Coding. Prentice-Hall, 1983.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 1999

Authors and Affiliations

  • Jihye Gwak
    • 1
  • Sooyoung KimShin
    • 2
  • Hyung-Myung Kim
    • 3
  1. 1.Satellite Communications System DepartmentElectronics and Telecommunications Research InstituteTaejonKorea
  2. 2.Satellite Communications System DepartmentRadio & Broadcasting Technology Laboratory, ETRITaejonKorea
  3. 3.Department of Electrical EngineeringKorea Advanced Institute of Sience and TechonologyTaejonKorea

Personalised recommendations