Metallogenic and Mining Provinces, Belts and Zones of Iran

  • Mansour Ghorbani
Part of the Springer Geology book series (SPRINGERGEOL)


Tectonically, Iran is a part of Alpine-Himalayan belt. The consequences of most of the orogenic phases recorded in this tectonic belt, especially the Alpine orogeny, are traceable in Iran. All the Mesozoic and Cenozoic structural divisions of the country have, in effect, formed or evolved in response to Alpine-Himalayan orogeny.

Combining the tectonic and economic evidences available, it can be deduced that all the areas of the country have been developed under the influence of Alpine orogeny, and therefore it is possible to classify various rocks and their associated mineral deposits into a number of metallogenic divisions based on the developmental stage of this orogeny. Taking into account the concepts of metallogeny, geological features, and mineralization characteristics of the deposits, three categories of metallogenic divisions can be considered for Iran as mentioned below:
  1. 1.

    Metallogenic provinces: Central Iran, Sanadaj-Sirjan, Orumieh-Dokhtar, Northeastern, Eastern and Southeastern

  2. 2.

    Metallogenic belts: Malayer-Esfahan Lead-Zinc Belt, Kerman Copper Belt, Esfandaghe-Faryab Chromium-Bearing Ophiolite Belt, Hashtjin-Tarom Metallogenic Belt, Zagros Oil and Gas Belt, Taknar Belt, etc.

  3. 3.

    Metallogenic zones: Takab, Anarak, Bafq, Tabas, Abadeh, Behabad etc.



Volcanic Rock Gold Deposit Porphyry Copper Intrusive Body Porphyry Copper Deposit 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media Dordrecht. 2013

Authors and Affiliations

  • Mansour Ghorbani
    • 1
  1. 1.Faculty of GeoscienceShahid Beheshti UniversityTehranIran

Personalised recommendations