The Four Holmes Novels

  • Michael J. Crowe


Crowe provides an analysis centered on the idea of a Gestalt shift of the Sherlock Holmes stories that appeared in the four Holmes novels: A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of the Four, The Hound of the Baskervilles, and The Valley of Fear. Crowe concludes that this Gestalt shift approach works very well for all but the third of these books. The Hound of the Baskervilles is especially important because in it Holmes solves the case based on an examination of a portrait of Hugo Baskerville, which examination may be one of the first detailed accounts of what is now known as a Gestalt shift.


Printed Sources

  1. Carr, John Dickson. The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: The Man Who Was Sherlock Holmes (New York: Vintage, 1975).Google Scholar
  2. Doyle, Arthur Conan. The Complete Sherlock Holmes, 2 vols. (New York: Doubleday, 1953).Google Scholar
  3. Doyle, Steven. and David A. Crowder. Sherlock Holmes for Dummies (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2010).Google Scholar
  4. McQueen, Ian. Sherlock Holmes Detected (New York: Drake, 1974).Google Scholar
  5. Redmond, Christopher. Sherlock Holmes Handbook, 2nd ed. (Toronto: Dundurn, 2009).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • Michael J. Crowe
    • 1
  1. 1.University of Notre DameNotre DameUSA

Personalised recommendations