Photoelectrochemical Study of TiO2/CdS Heterostructure Thin Films Prepared via rf Sputtering

  • Nisha KodanEmail author
  • Aadesh P. Singh
  • Dipika Sharma
  • B. R. Mehta
Conference paper
Part of the Springer Proceedings in Physics book series (SPPHY, volume 215)


In the present investigation TiO2, CdS and TiO2/CdS heterostructure thin films have been deposited on the indium doped tin oxide substrates (In: SnO2; ITO) by rf magnetron sputtering technique. A further study has been made for structural, optical and photoelectrochemical (PEC) properties of TiO2, CdS and TiO2/CdS heterostructure system. PEC behaviour of TiO2/CdS heterostructure thin film was studied and compared with TiO2 and CdS pristine thin film photoelectrodes. Enhanced photocurrent density of 0.36 mA/cm2 was observed in TiO2/CdS heterostructure thin films as compared to pristine TiO2(0.18 mA/cm2) and CdS (35 μA/cm2) at an applied bias of 0.23 V versus Ag/AgCl in 0.5 M Na2SO4 (pH = 7) electrolyte. This work provides promising methods to enhance the PEC water oxidation performance of the TiO2-based heterostructure photoanodes.



N. K. is grateful to MHRD and Industrial Research (CSIR) for awarding junior research fellowship.


  1. 1.
    A. Fujishima, K. Honda, Electrochemical photolysis of water at a semiconductor electrode. Nature 238, 37–38 (1972)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    I. Kaur, D.K. Pandya, K.L. Chopra, Growth kinetics and polymorphism of chemically deposited CdS films. J. Electrochem. Soc. 127, 943–948 (1980)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    X. Chen, S.S. Mao, Titanium dioxide nanomaterials: synthesis, properties, modifications, and applications. Chem. Rev. 107, 2891–2957 (2007)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    S. Banerjee, S.K. Mohapatra, P.P. Das, M. Misra, Synthesis of coupled semiconductor by filling 1D TiO2 nanotubes with CdS. Chem. Mater. 20, 6784–6791 (2008)CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Nisha Kodan
    • 1
    Email author
  • Aadesh P. Singh
    • 1
  • Dipika Sharma
    • 1
  • B. R. Mehta
    • 1
  1. 1.Thin Film Laboratory, Department of PhysicsIndian Institute of TechnologyNew DelhiIndia

Personalised recommendations