Science with Small Telescopes

  • Shyam Sarkar
  • Ashim Sarkar
  • Pabitra Sil
Conference paper
Part of the Astrophysics and Space Science Proceedings book series (ASSSP, volume 53)


Indian Centre for Space Physics was founded by Prof. S.K. Chakrabarti about 20 years ago to have a space research facility in Eastern India. It has recently installed a 0.61 m telescope for observational Astronomy. This is added to already existing 0.25 m telescope. They are located at the Ionospheric and Earthquake Research centre and Otical Observatories (IERCOO) about 80 km from Kolkata. Various tests are being made to check the capabilities of the telescopes and the backend instruments. We present the test results of this new facility in terms of imaging and spectrometry by giving explicit examples of our study of the passage of the Asteroid 3200 Phaethon, the spectra of the Sun and Mizar system. We also give an example of our efforts to discover exoplanets as we scan unknown fields of stars.



We are indebted to our Supervisor Prof. Sandip K. Chakrabarti for creating this telescope facility which is unique in eastern India. We acknowledge the engineering support from Mr. Debashis Bhowmick, logistic supports from Dr. Sudipta Sasmal and scientific support from Mr. Rana Khan and Mr. Soujan Ghosh. We thank Dr. S. Mondal, Dr. R.K. Das and Mr. S. Datta of SNBNCBS for helping us with initial supports in imaging software. PS and AS are supported by UGC NET Fellowship and SS is supported by CSIR NET Fellowship.


  1. 1.
    Bond, I.A.: Astrophys. J. Lett. 606, L155 (2004)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Henry, G.W., Marcy, G.W., Buter, R.P., Vogt, S.S.: Astrophys. J. 529, L41 (2000)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Schmidt, R.E.: MPBu 45, 131S (2018)ADSGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Wright, J.T., Gaudi, B.S.: In: Oswalt, T.D., French, L.M., Kalas, P. (eds.) Planets, Stars and Steller System, p. 489. Springer, Dordrecht (2013)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing AG, part of Springer Nature 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • Shyam Sarkar
    • 1
  • Ashim Sarkar
    • 1
  • Pabitra Sil
    • 1
  1. 1.IERCOOIndian Centre for Space PhysicsKolkataIndia

Personalised recommendations