Italy’s Scourge: The Four Mafias

  • Salvatore DiMaria
Part of the Italian and Italian American Studies book series (IIAS)


“Italy’s Scourge: The Four Mafias” traces the evolution of the four major criminal organizations, the Mafia, Camorra, ’Ndrangheta, and Sacra Corona Unita. The discussion proceeds from the notion that organized crime took root where the State failed to establish its authority. In time, it grew in number and stature thanks in part to its collusion with powerful public officials. After World War II, the Mafia, in particular, transitioned from its mostly rural environment to the urban setting. The transition marked a drastic change: the old, “benevolent” mafiosi were replaced by violent gangsters eager to enter the lucrative drug market. But the newly found wealth, the author concludes, triggered their demise, as it led the authorities to mount an aggressive campaign aimed at confiscating their ill-gotten gains and sending them to prison.

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • Salvatore DiMaria
    • 1
  1. 1.University of TennesseeKnoxvilleUSA

Personalised recommendations