Advertisement

Ward Just’s Echo House: Implementing Policy/Accepting Others

  • David SmitEmail author
Chapter

Abstract

In this chapter I show how Just’s self-consciousness about his own upper-middle-class status, his reportorial neutrality, and his mainstream liberalism in the tradition of Roosevelt, Kennedy, and Johnson influenced his portrayal of the consultants and fixers who implement policy among the political elite. I focus on how Echo House “sums up” its predecessors, illustrating how the evolution of lobbying and the rise of new media—in this case, television—evolved over the last decades of the twentieth century, giving the upper classes even greater power in the political directorate, and how the ruling elite dealt with the tensions in being open to new members, in this case, women and African Americans.

References

  1. Just, Ward. 1968a. 1968… A Year That Hurt Everyone It Touched. Washington Post, November 6.Google Scholar
  2. ———. 1968b. The City Beseiged: A Study in Ironies and Contrasts. Washington Post, April 6.Google Scholar
  3. ———. 1968c. City’s Mood: Resignation, Bitterness. Washington Post, April 7.Google Scholar
  4. ———. 1968d. Generation Gap in the Ghetto. Washington Post, April 7.Google Scholar
  5. ———. 1968e. The Making of a Martyr. Washington Post, July 28.Google Scholar
  6. ———. 1968f. Newton Trial… Microcosmic Oakland Drama. Washington Post, July 24.Google Scholar
  7. ———. 1982. In the City of Fear. New York: Viking.Google Scholar
  8. ———. 1997. Echo House. New York: Houghton Mifflin.Google Scholar
  9. ———. 1998. “Reconnaissance” and “Saigon and Other Syndromes”. In Reporting Vietnam, Part One: American Journalism 1959–1969, ed. Milton J. Bates, et al., 262–80, 348–70. New York: Library of America.Google Scholar
  10. Mayer, Jane. 2016. Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right. New York: Doubleday.Google Scholar
  11. Newsweek. 1961. Challenges…to the New Frontier—The Depressed Areas. February 6.Google Scholar
  12. Prados, John. 2006. Safe for Democracy: The Secret Wars of the CIA. Chicago: Ivan R. Dee.Google Scholar
  13. Privacy Piracy KUCI (radio show). 2006. Interview with Christine Varney. November 8. www.kuci.org/privacypiracy/2006Archive.html#11_08_06
  14. Ringle, Ken. 1997. Author About Town. Washington Post, May 22.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Kansas State UniversityManhattanUSA

Personalised recommendations