H G Wells pp 389-407 | Cite as

Later Fiction

The Croquet Player (1936); Star Begotten (1937); Brynhild (1937); The Camford Visitation (1937); The Brothers (1938); Apropos of Dolores (1938); The Holy Terror (1939)
  • Adam Roberts
Part of the Literary Lives book series (LL)


Discusses four late Wells novellas, by turns horror, science fiction and fantasy The Croquet Player (1936); Star Begotten (1937); The Camford Visitation (1937); The Brothers (1938). This chapter also gives an account of the full-length novels Brynhild (1937) Apropos of Dolores (1938) and The Holy Terror (1939).


  1. Barfoot Cedric C and Theo D’haen eds. (1991). Tropes of Revolution: Writers’ Reaction to Real and Imagined Revolutions 1780–1980. Amsterdam: Rodopi.Google Scholar
  2. Ketterer, David (2009). ‘The “Martianized” H. G. Wells?’ Science Fiction Studies, 36:2, pp. 327–332.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© The Author(s) 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Adam Roberts
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of EnglishRoyal Holloway, University of LondonEghamUK

Personalised recommendations