The Legacy of the Five-Member Court

  • Carl BaudenbacherEmail author
Part of the Springer Biographies book series (SPRINGERBIOGS)


The five Judges who took the oath on 4 January 1994 were Leif Sevón from Finland, Bjørn Haug from Norway, Kurt Herndl from Austria, Sven Norberg from Sweden and Thór Vilhjálmsson from Iceland. Sevón was elected as the Court’s first President. He had been a senior civil servant in the Finnish administration, a university professor and a judge on the Supreme Court as well as an EEA negotiator. Sevón later became an ECJ Judge and after this the Chief Justice of Finland. Bjørn Haug had, after a career in an industrial group, been the Attorney General (“Regjeringsadvokat”) of Norway. The Attorney General is the State’s law office in civil matters. Its task is to assist and represent the government in court.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Urumea AGSt. GallenSwitzerland

Personalised recommendations