Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


History and Membership. ASEAN is a regional intergovernmental organization formed by the governments of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand through the Bangkok Declaration which was signed by their foreign ministers on 8 Aug. 1967. Brunei joined in 1984, Vietnam in 1995, Laos and Myanmar in 1997 and Cambodia in 1999. Papua New Guinea also has observer status. The ASEAN Charter, signed in Nov. 2007, established the group as a legal entity and created permanent representation for members at its secretariat in Jakarta.


Member Country Foreign Minister Consultative Committee Fiji Island Summit Meeting 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Further Reading

  1. Broinowski, A., Understanding ASEAN. London, 1982.—(ed.) ASEAN into the 1990s. London, 1990CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. Van Hoa, Tran, (ed.) Economic Developments and Prospects in the ASEAN. London, 1997CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. Wawn, B., The Economics of the ASEAN Countries. London, 1982CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2008

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations