EU Institutions

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The European Commission consists (since 1 Jan. 2007) of 27 members, of which 25 were appointed by the member states in 2004 to serve for five years. The Bulgarian and Romanian commissioners became members on 1 Jan. 2007. The Commission President is selected by a consensus of member state heads of government and serves a five-year term. The Commission acts as the EU executive body and as guardian of the Treaties. In this it has the right of initiative (putting proposals to the Council of Ministers for action) and of execution (once the Council has decided). It can take the other institutions or individual countries before the European Court of Justice should any of these fail to comply with European Law. Decisions on legislative proposals made by the Commission are taken in the Council of the European Union. Members of the Commission swear an oath of independence, distancing themselves from partisan influence from any source. The Commission operates through 37 Directorates-General and services.


Member State Monetary Policy Euro Area European Central Bank European Council 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2008

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations