Commonwealth of Dominica
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


When Christopher Columbus sighted Dominica on 3 Nov. 1493 it was occupied by Carib Indians, who are thought to have overrun the previous inhabitants, the Arawak, from around 1300. Dominica remained a ‘Carib Isle’ until the 1630s, when French farmers and missionaries established sugar plantations. Control was contested between the British and French until it was awarded to the British by the Treaty of Versailles in 1783. In March 1967 Dominica became a self-governing state within the West Indies Associated States, with Britain retaining control of external relations and defence. The island became an independent republic, the Commonwealth of Dominica, on 3 Nov. 1978.


Prime Minister Credit Union Coalition Government Cruise Ship Privy Council 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Baker, P. L., Centring the Periphery: Chaos, Order and the Ethnohistory of Dominica. McGill-Queen’s Univ. Press, 1994Google Scholar
  2. Honychurch, L., The Dominica Story: a History of the Island. 2nd ed. London, 1995Google Scholar
  3. National Statistical Office: Central Statistical Office, Kennedy Avenue, Roseau.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2008

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations