• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Bolivia was part of the Inca Empire until conquered by the Spanish in the 16th century. Independence was won and the Republic of Bolivia was proclaimed on 6 Aug. 1825. During the first 154 years of its independence, Bolivia had 189 governments, many of them installed by coups. In the 1960s the Argentinian revolutionary and former minister of the Cuban government, Ernesto ‘Che’ Guevara, was killed in Bolivia while fighting with a left-wing guerrilla group. In 1971 Bolivian instability reached a peak with the brief establishment of a revolutionary Popular Assembly during the regime of Gen. Torres. Later repression under Gen. Hugo Banzer took a heavy toll on the left-wing parties. Banzer was followed by a succession of military-led governments until civilian rule was restored in Oct. 1982 when Dr Siles Zuazo became president. He introduced a period of economic reform embracing free markets and open trade, which succeeded in restoring stability but also widened the gap between rich and poor. Amid growing discontent, in Dec. 2005 Evo Morales Ayma was elected as the country’s first indigenous president.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Jemio, Luis Carlos, Debt, Crisis and Reform in Bolivia: Biting the Bullet. Palgrave Macmillan, Basingstoke, 2001CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. Klein, Herbert S., A Concise History of Bolivia. CUP, 2003Google Scholar
  3. Morales, Waltraud Q., Bolivia. Facts On File, New York, 2004Google Scholar
  4. National Statistical Office: Instituto Nacional de Estadistica, Av. José Carrasco 1391, CP 6129, La Paz.Google Scholar
  5. Website (Spanish only):

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2008

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations