Nobel Peace Prize Winners: 1982–2006

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


When the scientist, industrialist and inventor Alfred Nobel died in 1896, he made provision in his will for his fortune to be used for prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace. A prize for Economics was added later. The Norwegian Nobel Committee awards the Nobel Peace Prize, and the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm (founded 1900; Mailing address: Box 5232, SE-10245, Stockholm, Sweden) awards the other five prizes. The Prize Awarding Ceremony takes place on 10 Dec, the anniversary of Nobel’s death. The last 25 recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize, worth 10m. Sw. kr. in 2006, are:

2006 - Muhammad Yunus and Grameen Bank of Bangladesh for their efforts to create economic and social development from below.

2005 - Mohamed ElBaradei and the IAEA for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way.

2004 - Wangari Maathai (Kenya) for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace.

2003 - Shirin Ebadi (Iran) for her work fighting for democracy and the rights of women and children.


Nuclear Energy United Nations Development Programme Military Purpose Nobel Peace Prize United Nations System 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2007

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations