Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Commonwealth of Independent States, founded on 8 Dec. 1991 in Viskuli, a government villa in Belarus, is a community of independent states which proclaimed itself the successor to the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics in some aspects of international law and affairs. The member states are the founders, Russia, Belarus and Ukraine, and eight subsequent adherents: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Turkmenistan withdrew its permanent member status on 26 Aug. 2005 and became an associate member.


International Criminal Court International Criminal Geneva Convention Soviet Socialist Republic Summit Meeting 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Further Reading

  1. Brzezinski, Z. and Sullivan, P. (eds.) Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States: Documents, Data and Analysis. Armonk (NY), 1996Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2007

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations