Central African Republic

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Central African Republic became independent on 13 Aug. 1960, after having been one of the four territories of French Equatorial Africa (under the name of Ubangi Shari). A constitution of 1976 provided for a parliamentary democracy to be known as the Central African Empire. President Bokassa became Emperor Bokassa I. He was overthrown in 1979. In 1981 Gen. André Kolingba took power, initiating a gradual return to constitutional rule.


Cotton Fabric Central African Republic Constitutional Rule Transitional Government Parliamentary Democracy 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Kalck, Pierre, Central African Republic. [Bibliography] ABC-Clio, Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1993.—Historical Dictionary of the Central African Republic. 2nd ed. Scarecrow Press, Metuchen (NJ), 2004Google Scholar
  2. Titley, B., Dark Age: The Political Odyssey of Emperor Bokassa. McGill-University Press, Montreal, 1997Google Scholar
  3. National Statistical Office: Division des Statistiques, des Etudes Economiques et Sociales, BP 696, Bangui.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2007

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations