Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


ASEAN is a regional intergovernmental organization formed by the governments of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand through the Bangkok Declaration which was signed by their foreign ministers on 8 Aug. 1967. Brunei joined in 1984, Vietnam in 1995, Laos and Myanmar in 1997 and Cambodia in 1999. Papua New Guinea also has observer status. The ASEAN Charter, signed in Nov. 2007, established the group as a legal entity and created permanent representation for members at its secretariat in Jakarta.

Further Reading

  1. Beeson, Mark, Regionalism & Globalization in East Asia: Politics, Security & Economic Development. 2006.—Contemporary Southeast Asia. 2nd ed. 2008.—Institutions of the Asia-Pacific: ASEAN, APEC and Beyond. 2008Google Scholar
  2. Broinowski, A., Understanding ASEAN. 1982.—(ed.) ASEAN into the 1990s. 1990CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. Jarvis, Darryl S. L. and Welch, Anthony, (eds.) ASEAN Industries and the Challenge from China. 2011Google Scholar
  4. Jones, Lee, ASEAN, Sovereignty and Intervention in Southeast Asia. 2011Google Scholar
  5. Lee, Yoong Yoong, ASEAN Matters! Reflecting on the Association of Southeast Asian Nations. 2011CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations