North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Origin. On 4 April 1949 the foreign ministers of Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the UK and the USA signed the North Atlantic Treaty, establishing the North Atlantic Alliance. In 1952 Greece and Turkey acceded to the Treaty; in 1955 the Federal Republic of Germany; in 1982 Spain; in 1999 the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland; in 2004 Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia; and in 2009 Albania and Croatia, bringing the total to 28 member countries.

Further Reading

  1. Cook, D., The Forging of an Alliance. 1989Google Scholar
  2. Cottey, Andrew, Security in 21st Century Europe. 2nd ed. 2012Google Scholar
  3. Edström, Håkan and Gyllensporre, Dennis, (eds.) Pursuing Strategy: NATO Operations from the Gulf War to Gaddafi. 2012Google Scholar
  4. Hallams, Ellen, Ratti, Luca and Zyla, Ben, (eds.) NATO Beyond 9/11: The Transformation of the Atlantic Alliance. 2013Google Scholar
  5. Heller, F. H. and Gillingham, J. R. (eds.) NATO: the Founding of the Atlantic Alliance and the Integration of Europe. 1992Google Scholar
  6. Sloan, Stanley R., Permanent Alliance?: NATO and the Transatlantic Bargain from Truman to Obama. 2010Google Scholar
  7. Smith, J. (ed.) The Origins of NATO. 1990Google Scholar
  8. Webber, Mark, Sperling, James and Smith, Martin A., NATO’s Post-Cold War Trajectory: Decline or Regeneration? 2012CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations