• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Swazi migrated into the country to which they have given their name in the last half of the 18th century. The independence of the Swazis was guaranteed in the conventions of 1881 and 1884 between the British Government and the Government of the South African Republic. In 1894 the South African Republic was given powers of protection and administration. In 1902, after the conclusion of the Boer War, a special commissioner took charge, and under an order-in-council in 1903 the Governor of the Transvaal administered the territory. Swaziland became independent on 6 Sept. 1968. A state of emergency imposed in 1973 is still in force. On 25 April 1986 King Mswati III was installed as King of Swaziland.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Booth, Alan R., Historical Dictionary of Swaziland. 2000Google Scholar
  2. Gillis, D. Hugh, The Kingdom of Swaziland: Studies in Political History. 1999Google Scholar
  3. Matsebula, J. S. M., A History of Swaziland. 3rd ed. 1992Google Scholar
  4. National Statistical Office: Central Statistical Office, POB 456, Mbabane.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations