Central African Republic

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


One of the four territories of French Equatorial Africa, the Central African Republic became independent on 13 Aug. 1960. A constitution of 1976 provided for a parliamentary democracy to be known as the Central African Empire. President Bokassa became Emperor Bokassa I. He was overthrown in 1979. In 1981 Gen. André Kolingba took power, initiating a gradual return to constitutional rule.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Kalck, Pierre, Historical Dictionary of the Central African Republic. 3rd ed. 2004Google Scholar
  2. Titley, B., Dark Age: The Political Odyssey of Emperor Bokassa. 1997Google Scholar
  3. National Statistical Office: Division des Statistiques, des Études Économiques et Sociales, BP 696, Bangui.Google Scholar
  4. Website (French only):

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations