• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Formerly known as the Ellice Islands, Tuvalu is a group of nine islands in the western central Pacific. Joining the British controlled Gilbert Islands Protectorate in 1916, they became the Gilbert and Ellice Islands colony.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Bennetts, P. and Wheeler, T., Time and Tide: The Islands of Tuvalu. 2001Google Scholar
  2. National Statistical Office: Ministry of Finance, Economic Planning and Industries, Private Bag, Vaiaku, Funafuti.Google Scholar
  3. Website:

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2013

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations