Equatorial Guinea

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Equatorial Guinea consists of the island of Bioko, for centuries called Fernando P6; other smaller islands and the mainland territory of Rio Muni. Fernando P6 was named after the Portuguese navigator Fernão do P6. The island was ruled for three centuries by Portugal until 1778 when it was ceded to Spain. For some decades after taking possession, Spain did not have a strong presence. Britain established a naval base at Clarence (later Santa Isabel), which was central to the suppression of slave trading over a wide area. Spain asserted its rule from the 1840s when cocoa was cultivated on European-owned plantations using imported African labour. This traffic led to an international scandal in 1930 when Liberians were found to be held in virtual slavery. Later many Nigerians were employed, often in poor conditions.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Liniger-Goumaz, M., Guinea Ecuatorial: Bibliografia General. 1974–91.Google Scholar
  2. Small is Not Always Beautiful: The Story of Equatorial Guinea. 1988.Google Scholar
  3. Historical Dictionary of Equatorial Guinea. 2000Google Scholar
  4. Molino, A. M. del, La Ciudad de Clarence. 1994Google Scholar
  5. National Statistical Office: Dirección General de Estadisticas y Cuentas Nacionales.Google Scholar
  6. Website (Spanish only):

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2013

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations