Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


COMESA is an African economic grouping of 20 member states who are committed to the creation of a Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa. It was established in 1994 as a building block for the African Economic Community and replaced the Preferential Trade Area for Eastern and Southern Africa, which had been in existence since 1981.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2012

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations