• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Polynesians settled in the Samoan group of islands in the southern Pacific from about 1000 BC. Although probably sighted by the Dutch in 1722, the first European visitor was French in 1768. Treaties were signed between the Chiefs and European nations in 1838-39. Continuing strife among the chiefs was compounded by British, German and US rivalry for influence. In the Treaty of Berlin 1889 the three powers agreed to Western Samoa’s independence and neutrality. When unrest continued, the treaty was annulled and Western Samoa became a German protectorate until in 1914 it was occupied by a New Zealand expeditionary force. The island was administered by New Zealand from 1920 to 1961. On 1 Jan. 1962 Western Samoa gained independence. In July 1997 the country renamed itself the Independent State of Samoa.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further reading

  1. National Statistical Office: Samoa Bureau of Statistics (SBS), Ministry ofGoogle Scholar
  2. Finance, Level 1, Government Building (MFMII), P. O. Box 1151, Apia.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2012

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations