North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Origin. On 4 April 1949 the foreign ministers of Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the UK and the USA signed the North Atlantic Treaty, establishing the North Atlantic Alliance. In 1952 Greece and Turkey acceded to the Treaty; in 1955 the Federal Republic of Germany; in 1982 Spain; in 1999 the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland; in 2004 Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia; and in 2009 Albania and Croatia, bringing the total to 28 member countries.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Carr, F. and Infantis, K., NATO in the New European Order. 1996CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. Cook, D., The Forging of an Alliance. 1989Google Scholar
  3. Cottey, Andrew, Security in the New Europe. 2007Google Scholar
  4. Heller, F. H. and Gillingham, J. R. (eds.) NATO: the Founding of the Atlantic Alliance and the Integration of Europe. 1992Google Scholar
  5. Rupp, Richard E., NATO after 9/11: An Alliance in Continuing Decline. 2006CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. Smith, J. (ed.) The Origins of NATO. 1990Google Scholar
  7. Yost, David S., NATO Transformed: The Alliance’s New Roles in International Security. 1999Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2010

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations