• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Paraguay was occupied by the Spanish in 1537 and became a Spanish colony as part of the viceroyalty of Peru. The area gained its independence, as the Republic of Paraguay, on 14 May 1811. Paraguay was then ruled by a succession of dictators. A devastating war fought from 1865 to 1870 between Paraguay and a coalition of Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay reduced Paraguay’s population from about 600,000 to 233,000. Further severe losses were incurred during the war with Bolivia (1932–35) over territorial claims in the Chaco inspired by the unfounded belief that minerals existed in the territory. A peace treaty by which Paraguay obtained most of the area her troops had conquered was signed in July 1938.


Presidential Election Democratic Progressive Party Popular Movement Territorial Claim Christian Democratic Party 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Gaceta Official, published by Imprenta Nacional, Estrella y Estero Bellaco, AsunciónGoogle Scholar
  2. Anuario Daumas. AsunciónGoogle Scholar
  3. Anuario Estadístico de la República del Paraguay. Asunción. Annual Nickson, R. A. and Lambert, P. (eds.) The Transition to Democracy in Paraguay Macmillan, London and St Martin’s Press, New York, 1997.Google Scholar
  4. National library: Biblioteca Nacional, Calle de la Residenta, 820 c/ Perú, Asunción.Google Scholar
  5. National Statistical Office: Dirección General de Estadísticas, Encuestas y Censos.Google Scholar
  6. Website (Spanish only):

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2009

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations