League of Arab States

  • Nick Heath-Brown
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Origin. The League of Arab States (often referred to as the Arab League) is a voluntary association of sovereign Arab states, established by a Pact signed in Cairo on 22 March 1945 by the representatives of Egypt, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan and Yemen. It seeks to promote closer ties among member states and to co-ordinate their economic, cultural and security policies with a view to developing collective co-operation, protecting national security and maintaining the independence and sovereignty of member states, in order to enhance the potential for joint Arab action across all fields.


Member State Saudi Arabia Arab World African Union Crude Petroleum 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Further Reading

  1. Bouhamidi, Soumia, The Role of the League of Arab States: Mediating and Resolving Arab-Arab Conflicts. 2011Google Scholar
  2. Gomaa, A. M., The Foundation of the League of Arab States. 1977Google Scholar
  3. Salem, Ahmed Ali, International Relations Theories and Organizations: Realism, Constructivism, and Collective Security in the League of Arab States. 2008Google Scholar

Copyright information

© The Editor(s) 2015

Authors and Affiliations

  • Nick Heath-Brown

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations