Pitiful Giants

Presidents in Their Final Terms

  • Authors
  • Daniel¬†P.¬†Franklin

Part of the The Evolving American Presidency Series book series (EAP)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xii
  2. Daniel P. Franklin
    Pages 1-20
  3. Daniel P. Franklin
    Pages 43-70
  4. Daniel P. Franklin
    Pages 71-99
  5. Daniel P. Franklin
    Pages 101-133
  6. Daniel P. Franklin
    Pages 135-170
  7. Back Matter
    Pages 189-228

About this book


Five presidents (Eisenhower, Reagan, Clinton, Bush, and Obama) have been elected to and served a second term. Seemingly free from electoral pressure, each president has taken a unique approach to their second term, and the book seeks to unpack the rationale behind their decisions and actions in their final years of power.


Electoral foreign policy Policy politics state

Bibliographic information