UK Monetary Policy from Devaluation to Thatcher, 1967–82

  • Duncan Needham

Part of the Palgrave Studies in the History of Finance book series (PSHF)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xiii
  2. Duncan Needham
    Pages 1-20
  3. Duncan Needham
    Pages 46-77
  4. Duncan Needham
    Pages 78-108
  5. Duncan Needham
    Pages 109-133
  6. Duncan Needham
    Pages 134-168
  7. Duncan Needham
    Pages 169-174
  8. Back Matter
    Pages 175-253

About this book


This book charts the course of monetary policy in the UK from 1967 to 1982. It shows how events such as the 1967 devaluation, the collapse of Bretton Woods, the stagflation of the 1970s, and the IMF loan of 1976 all shaped policy. It shows that the 'monetarist' experiment of the 1980s was based on a fundamental misreading of 1970s monetary policy.


Financial crises Thatcherism Monetarism Keynesianism Monetary policy Bretton Woods monetary policy Stagflation

Authors and affiliations

  • Duncan Needham
    • 1
  1. 1.Darwin CollegeUniversity of CambridgeUK

Bibliographic information

Industry Sectors
Finance, Business & Banking