© 2014

Detective Fiction and the Ghost Story

The Haunted Text

  • Authors

Part of the Crime Files Series book series (CF)

About this book


Detective Fiction and the Ghost Story is a lively series of case studies celebrating the close relationship between detective fiction and the ghost story. It features many of the most famous authors from both genres including Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie, M. R. James and Tony Hillerman.


Detective fiction Ghosts Conan Doyle Arthur Conan Doyle detective fiction fiction novel

About the authors

Michael Cook is a freelance writer based in Devon, UK. A former National Trust Director, he holds a PhD in English from the University of Bristol. His previous publications include Narratives of Enclosure in Detective Fiction: The Locked Room Mystery (Palgrave Macmillan, 2011), the first full length critique of the Locked Room Mystery; Detective Fiction and The Ghost Story is his second book.

Bibliographic information

  • Book Title Detective Fiction and the Ghost Story
  • Book Subtitle The Haunted Text
  • Authors M. Cook
  • Series Title Crime Files Series
  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2014
  • Publisher Name Palgrave Macmillan, London
  • eBook Packages Palgrave Literature Collection Literature, Cultural and Media Studies (R0)
  • Hardcover ISBN 978-1-137-29488-3
  • Softcover ISBN 978-1-349-45165-4
  • eBook ISBN 978-1-137-29489-0
  • Edition Number 1
  • Number of Pages VIII, 231
  • Number of Illustrations 0 b/w illustrations, 0 illustrations in colour
  • Topics Fiction
  • Buy this book on publisher's site