Accidental Presidents

Death, Assassination, Resignation, and Democratic Succession

  • Authors
  • Philip Abbott

Part of the The Evolving American Presidency Series book series (EAP)

Table of contents

About this book


Accidental presidents, those who assume office as a result of death, assassination or resignation, struggle to establish their legitimacy. This book examines and evaluates the strategies of nine accidental presidents, from John Tyler to Gerald Ford, to demonstrate authority and their capacity to govern.


Andrew Johnson Calvin Coolidge Chester A. Arthur Gerald Ford Harry S. Truman John Tyler Millard Fillmore Theodore Roosevelt

Bibliographic information