© 2010

After Number 10

Former Prime Ministers in British Politics


Part of the Understanding Governance book series (TRG)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-viii
  2. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 1-13
  3. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 14-41
  4. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 42-73
  5. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 74-106
  6. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 107-125
  7. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 126-148
  8. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 149-175
  9. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 176-196
  10. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 197-225
  11. Kevin Theakston
    Pages 226-237
  12. Back Matter
    Pages 238-269

About this book


Having lost an election, been thrown out by their party, or retired on grounds of ill-health, what do former British prime ministers do? In the first book to look at the lives, political roles and influence of former prime ministers, Theakston analyzes all the former prime ministers from Walpole in the 18th century to Blair today.


18th century comparative health politics Thatcher

Authors and affiliations

  1. 1.University of LeedsUK

About the authors

KEVIN THEAKSTON is Professor of British Government at the University of Leeds, UK and is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society. His previous books include: Leadership in Whitehall (1999), Winston Churchill and the British Constitution (2004), and (edited) British Foreign Secretaries Since 1974 (2004).

Bibliographic information


'This is a most fascinating, superbly readable book.' - Journal of Liberal History