New Critical Essays on Kurt Vonnegut

  • Editors
  • David Simmons

Part of the American Literature Readings in the 21st Century book series (ALTC)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xv
  2. Vonnegut’s Early Writing (1950–1969)

  3. Vonnegut’s Later Writing (1970–2005)

  4. Vonnegut and Other Writers

  5. Back Matter
    Pages 227-233

About this book


Kurt Vonnegut's darkly comic work became a symbol for the counterculture of a generation. From his debut novel, Player Piano (1951) through seminal 1960's novels such as Cat's Cradle (1963) and Slaughterhouse-Five (1969) up to the recent success of A Man Without A Country (2005), Vonnegut's writing has remained commercially popular, offering a satirical yet optimistic outlook on modern life. Though many fellow writers admired Vonnegut - Gore Vidal famously suggesting that "Kurt was never dull" - the academic establishment has tended to retain a degree of scepticism concerning the validity of his work. This dynamic collection aims to re-evaluate Vonnegut's position as an integral part of the American post-war cannon of literature.


fiction novel time

Bibliographic information