The Cluster and Phoenix Missions

  • C. P. Escoubet
  • C. T. Russell
  • R. Schmidt

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-9
  2. C. P. Escoubet, R. Schmidt, M. L. Goldstein
    Pages 11-32
  3. J. Credland, G. Mecke, J. Ellwood
    Pages 33-64
  4. A. Balogh, M. W. Dunlop, S. W. H. Cowley, D. J. Southwood, J. G. Thomlinson, K. H. Glassmeier et al.
    Pages 65-91
  5. A. Pedersen, N. Cornilleau-Wehrlin, B. De La Porte, A. Roux, A. Bouabdellah, P. M. E. Décréau et al.
    Pages 93-105
  6. N. Cornilleau-Wehrlin, P. Chauveau, S. Louis, A. Meyer, J. M. Nappa, S. Perraut et al.
    Pages 107-136
  7. G. Gustafsson, R. Boström, B. Holback, G. Holmgren, A. Lundgren, K. Stasiewicz et al.
    Pages 137-156
  8. P. M. E. Décréau, P. Fergeau, V. Krannosels’Kikh, M. Lévêque, Ph. Martin, O. Randriamboarison et al.
    Pages 157-193
  9. D. A. Gurnett, R. L. Huff, D. L. Kirchner
    Pages 195-208
  10. L. J. C. Woolliscroft, H. St. C. Alleyne, C. M. Dunford, A. Sumner, J. A. Thompson, S. N. Walker et al.
    Pages 209-231
  11. G. Paschmann, F. Melzner, R. Frenzel, H. Vaith, P. Parigger, U. Pagel et al.
    Pages 233-269
  12. W. Riedler, K. Torkar, F. Rüdenauer, M. Fehringer, A. Pedersen, R. Schmidt et al.
    Pages 271-302
  13. H. Rème, J. M. Bosqued, J. A. Sauvaud, A. Cros, J. Dandouras, C. Aoustin et al.
    Pages 303-350
  14. A. D. Johnstone, C. Alsop, S. Burge, P. J. Carter, A. J. Coates, A. J. Coker et al.
    Pages 351-398
  15. B. Wilken, W. I. Axford, I. Daglis, P. Daly, W. Güttler, W. H. Ip et al.
    Pages 399-473
  16. P. Ferri, M. Warhaut
    Pages 475-485
  17. M. A. Hapgood, T. G. Dimbylow, D. C. Sutcliffe, P. A. Chaizy, P. S. Ferron, P. M. Hill et al.
    Pages 487-525
  18. C. P. Escoubet, C. T. Russell, R. Schmidt
    Pages 639-658
  19. C. P. Escoubet, C. T. Russell, R. Schmidt
    Pages 659-659
  20. C. P. Escoubet, C. T. Russell, R. Schmidt
    Pages 659-659
  21. C. P. Escoubet, C. T. Russell, R. Schmidt
    Pages 660-660

About this book


Cluster was one of the two missions - the other being the Solar and Heliospheric Observatory (SOHO) - constituting the Solar Terrestrial Science Programme (STSP), the first `cornerstone' of ESA's Horizon 2000 Programme. After the catastrophic Ariane-5 accident on 4 June 1996 which destroyed the four Cluster spacecraft, the European Space Agency Science Programme Committee gave approval to refurbish the spare Cluster spacecraft and make it ready for flight. This new spacecraft, considered to be the first of a new fleet, is called Phoenix. In the meantime various options to repeat the Cluster four-point measurements are being studied.
Since Phoenix, as the fifth Cluster spacecraft, will be equipped with the spare Cluster experiments, the instrumentation articles in this book are still appropriate to the new mission. Furthermore, the objectives of the recovery mission, the ground systems, the ground observation program and the theory and modelling efforts all remain unchanged. Thus this series of articles will continue to be essential to the Cluster community and to the general scientific community as the recovery mission is implemented.


magnetosphere observatory solar spectrometry

Editors and affiliations

  • C. P. Escoubet
    • 1
  • C. T. Russell
    • 2
  • R. Schmidt
    • 1
  1. 1.Solar System Division, Space Science DepartmentESA/ESTECNoordwijkthe Netherlands
  2. 2.Institute of Geophysics and Planetary PhysicsUniversity of Los AngelesUSA

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer Science+Business Media Dordrecht 1997
  • Publisher Name Springer, Dordrecht
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-94-010-6389-0
  • Online ISBN 978-94-011-5666-0
  • Buy this book on publisher's site
Industry Sectors
Oil, Gas & Geosciences