Advertisement

Educational Encounters: Nordic Studies in Early Childhood Didactics

  • Niklas Pramling
  • Ingrid Pramling Samuelsson

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages 1-1
  2. Niklas Pramling, Ingrid Pramling Samuelsson
    Pages 1-13
  3. Elisabet Doverborg, Ingrid Pramling Samuelsson
    Pages 37-64
  4. Susanne Thulin, Gustav Helldén
    Pages 65-84
  5. Eva Johansson
    Pages 127-139
  6. Anette Hellman
    Pages 141-156
  7. Anette Emilson
    Pages 157-171
  8. Elisabeth Mellgren, Karin Gustafsson
    Pages 173-189
  9. Sonja Sheridan
    Pages 223-242
  10. Ingrid Pramling Samuelsson, Niklas Pramling
    Pages 243-256
  11. Back Matter
    Pages 252-252

About this book

Introduction

Qualitative analyses of young children’s learning in natural settings are rare, so this new book will make educators sit up and pay attention. It lays out a Nordic, or continental European teaching and learning paradigm whose didactic framework is distinct from the Anglo-American system. This analysis, which features contributions and case studies from researchers in a range of subjects, is built on principles such as the learner’s perspective, establishing sufficient intersubjectivity, ‘pointing out’, and informing experience linguistically. After clarifying some historical background, the book discusses the contemporary emphasis in early childhood education on pedagogy/learning. What should ‘didactics’ mean in educating young children?

The book examines the opportunities for learning that teachers provide for children in early childhood education, as well as how children respond to these opportunities. It presents empirical studies from a variety of naturalistic settings, including mathematics, making visual art, ecology, music, dance, literacy and story-telling, as well as learning about gender, morality and democracy. The authors seek to answer key questions about the processes involved in both teaching and learning. What challenges do teachers face as they try to expand children’s knowledge in various fields of learning? How do they respond to these challenges, and what can we learn about children’s corresponding uptake? What now requires further research? One key distinction in researching children’s learning is between studies that look at ‘process’ and those that analyze ‘product’. In the tradition of Piaget, Vygotsky and Werner, as well as Mercer and Valsiner’s more recent work, this book advocates the importance and relative rareness of the former type of study.

Keywords

Nordic Scandinavian Sweden aesthetics communication dance democracy developmental pedagogy didactics early childhood education ecology ethics gender learning literacy mathematics moral narrative pedagogy phenomenology preschool quality sociocultural theory visual art

Editors and affiliations

  • Niklas Pramling
    • 1
  • Ingrid Pramling Samuelsson
    • 2
  1. 1., Department of Education, Communication aUniversity of GothenburgGothenburgSweden
  2. 2., Department of Education, Communication aUniversity of GothenburgGothenburgSweden

Bibliographic information