The Abel Prize 2008-2012

  • Helge Holden
  • Ragni Piene

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages I-XVII
  2. 2008 John G. Thompson and Jacques Tits

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 29-29
    2. John G. Thompson
      Pages 31-33
    3. Francis Buekenhout
      Pages 35-53
    4. Richard Lyons, Robert M. Guralnick
      Pages 55-86
    5. Helge Holden, Ragni Piene
      Pages 101-107
    6. Helge Holden, Ragni Piene
      Pages 109-121
    7. Helge Holden, Ragni Piene
      Pages 123-123
    8. Helge Holden, Ragni Piene
      Pages 125-126
  3. 2009 Mikhail Gromov

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 127-127
    2. Mikhail Gromov
      Pages 129-137
    3. D. Burago, Y. Eliashberg, M. Bestvina, F. Forstnerič, L. Guth, A. Nabutovsky et al.
      Pages 139-234
    4. Helge Holden, Ragni Piene
      Pages 235-243
    5. Helge Holden, Ragni Piene
      Pages 245-246
  4. 2010 John Torrence Tate

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 247-247
    2. John Tate
      Pages 249-257
    3. J. S. Milne
      Pages 259-340
    4. Helge Holden, Ragni Piene
      Pages 341-347

About this book


Covering the years 2008-2012, this book profiles the life and work of recent winners of the Abel Prize:
·         John G. Thompson and Jacques Tits, 2008
·         Mikhail Gromov, 2009
·         John T. Tate Jr., 2010
·         John W. Milnor, 2011
·         Endre Szemerédi, 2012.

The profiles feature autobiographical information as well as a description of each mathematician's work. In addition, each profile contains a complete bibliography, a curriculum vitae, as well as photos — old and new. As an added feature, interviews with the Laureates are presented on an accompanying web site (
The book also presents a  history of the Abel Prize written by the historian Kim Helsvig, and includes a facsimile of a letter from Niels Henrik Abel, which is transcribed, translated into English, and placed into historical perspective by Christian Skau. 


This book follows on The Abel Prize: 2003-2007, The First Five Years (Springer, 2010), which profiles the work of the first Abel Prize winners.



Abel Prize History of Contemporary Mathematics

Editors and affiliations

  • Helge Holden
    • 1
  • Ragni Piene
    • 2
  1. 1.Department of Mathematical SciencesNorwegian University of Science and TechnologyTrondheimNorway
  2. 2.Department of MathematicsUniversity of OsloOsloNorway

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2014
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Mathematics and Statistics
  • Print ISBN 978-3-642-39448-5
  • Online ISBN 978-3-642-39449-2
  • About this book