Cycles in US Foreign Policy since the Cold War

  • Thomas H. Henriksen

Part of the American Foreign Policy in the 21st Century book series (AMP21C)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xi
  2. Part I

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 27-27
    2. Thomas H. Henriksen
      Pages 29-56
    3. Thomas H. Henriksen
      Pages 57-85
  3. Part II

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 87-87
  4. Part III

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 161-161
    2. Thomas H. Henriksen
      Pages 163-184
    3. Thomas H. Henriksen
      Pages 185-228
  5. Part IV

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 229-229
    2. Thomas H. Henriksen
      Pages 231-260
    3. Thomas H. Henriksen
      Pages 261-302
    4. Thomas H. Henriksen
      Pages 303-308
  6. Back Matter
    Pages 309-332

About this book


This book describes how American international policy alternates between engagement and disengagement cycles in world affairs. These cycles provide a unique way to understand, assess, and describe fluctuations in America’s involvement or non-involvement overseas. In addition to its basic thesis, the book presents a fair-minded account of four presidents’ foreign policies in the post-Cold War period: George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush, and Barack Obama. It suggests recurring sources of cyclical change, along with implications for the future. An engaged or involved foreign policy entails the use of military power and diplomatic pressure against other powers to secure American ends. A disengaged or noninvolved policy relies on normal economic and political interaction with other states, which seeks to disassociate from entanglements.


foreign policy mood theory obama George W. Bush clinton international relations security policy contemporary issues war and peace recent American history post-Cold War international conflict international security global affairs

Authors and affiliations

  • Thomas H. Henriksen
    • 1
  1. 1.Hoover InstitutionStanford UniversityPalo AltoUSA

Bibliographic information