© 1993

Elementary Reaction Steps in Heterogeneous Catalysis

  • R. W. Joyner
  • R. A. van Santen

Part of the NATO ASI Series book series (ASIC, volume 398)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-ix
  2. Introduction: Elementary Reaction Steps in Heterogeneous Catalysis

    1. Richard W. Joyner, Rutger A. van Santen
      Pages 1-2
  3. Catalytic Reactivity

    1. J. M. Basset, S. L. Scott, A. Choplin, M. Leconte, F. Quignard, C. Santini et al.
      Pages 39-49
    2. R. A. van Santen, G. J. Kramer, W. P. J. H. Jacobs
      Pages 113-131
    3. Rapporteur P. B. Wells
      Pages 133-136
  4. Surface Science Studies in Catalysis

    1. E. Bordes
      Pages 137-153
    2. J. Evans, B. E. Hayden, J. F. W. Mosselmans, A. J. Murray
      Pages 179-195
    3. George W. Coulston, Gary L. Haller
      Pages 197-219
    4. Rapporteur H. P. C. E. Kuipers
      Pages 243-247
  5. In-situ Methods in Catalysis

About this book


This book comprises the proceedings of a NATO sponsored Advanced Research Workshop held from 1st November to 6th November 1992 in the delightful Chateau de Florans, Bedoin, Vaucluse, France and entitled 'Elementary Reaction Steps in Heterogeneous Catalysis. ' The organisers are grateful to the Science Committee of NATO for their support of this meeting. This is believed to be the first wide ranging NATO ARW in the field of heterogeneous catalysis for 20 years, following a previous venture organised in Sardinia by Basolo and Burwell, of Northwestern University, Illinois, USA [1]. This volume collects the lecture presentations and reports on the lively Panel discussions. The idea for the meeting evolved from a series of International Symposia on Quantum Chemistry and Mechanism in Heterogeneous Catalysis. The first of these was held in Lyon, France in 1986, the second in Krakow, Poland in 1988 and the third in Berkeley, California in 1990. The organising committee of the present meeting was Bernard Bigot, France, Tony Farragher, Netherlands, Richard Joyner, UK, Mme. Danielle Olivier, France, and Rutger van Santen, Netherlands, (Chairman). We wish to thank all members of the committee but in particular Bernard Bigot, who undertook the very extensive work involved in the local organisation with consummate skill and made our stay in Provence a great pleasure. Bernard Bigot's secretary, Mme. Marie-Noelle Coscat and Richard Joyner's secretary, Mrs. Pat Gibbs, also deserve our considerable thanks. There were fifty-four participants from eleven countries.


Ion catalysis chemical engineering kinetics

Editors and affiliations

  • R. W. Joyner
    • 1
  • R. A. van Santen
    • 2
  1. 1.Leverhulme Centre for Innovative Catalysis, Department of ChemistryUniversity of LiverpoolLiverpoolUK
  2. 2.Schuit Institute of CatalysisEindhoven Technical UniversityEindhovenThe Netherlands

Bibliographic information

Industry Sectors
Chemical Manufacturing
Consumer Packaged Goods