Seventh IUTAM Symposium on Laminar-Turbulent Transition

Proceedings of the Seventh IUTAM Symposium on Laminar-Turbulent Transition, Stockholm, Sweden, 2009

  • Philipp Schlatter
  • Dan S. Henningson
Conference proceedings

Part of the IUTAM Bookseries book series (IUTAMBOOK, volume 18)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages 1-23
  2. Invited Presentations

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 1-1
    2. A. Hanifi, O. Amoignon, J. O. Pralits, M. Chevalier
      Pages 3-10
    3. A. A. Maslov, T. Poplavskaya, D. A. Bountin
      Pages 19-26
    4. Eckart Meiburg
      Pages 27-34
    5. Clarence W. Rowley, Igor Mezić, Shervin Bagheri, Philipp Schlatter, Dan S. Henningson
      Pages 43-50
  3. Oral Presentations

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 68-68
    2. Frédéric Alizard, Jean-Christophe Robinet, Ulrich Rist
      Pages 69-74
    3. J.-P. Archambaud, D. Arnal, J.-L. Godard, S. Hein, J. Krier, R. S. Donelli et al.
      Pages 75-80
    4. Masahito Asai, Motosumi Yamanouchi, Ayumu Inasawa, Yasufumi Konishi
      Pages 81-86
    5. Andreas Babucke, Markus J. Kloker, Ulrich Rist
      Pages 93-98
    6. Andrew L. Carpenter, William S. Saric, Helen L. Reed
      Pages 105-110
    7. V. Chernoray, G. R. Grek, V. V. Kozlov, Y. A. Litvinenko
      Pages 117-122
    8. Thomas Corke, Eric Matlis, Chan-Yong Schuele, Stephen Wilkinson, Lewis Owens, P. Balakumar
      Pages 123-128
    9. Carlo Cossu, Mattias Chevalier, Dan S. Henningson
      Pages 129-134
    10. Alexander Dovgal, Alexander Sorokin
      Pages 147-152
    11. A. Duchmann, A. Reeh, R. Quadros, J. Kriegseis, C. Tropea
      Pages 153-158
    12. Yohann Duguet, Philipp Schlatter, Dan S. Henningson
      Pages 159-164
    13. Ronald E. Hanson, Philippe Lavoie, Ahmed M. Naguib, Jonathan F. Morrison
      Pages 183-188
    14. S. Hein, E. Schülein, A. Hanifi, J. Sousa, D. Arnal
      Pages 189-194
    15. Kerstin Hochstrate, Jan Abshagen, Marc Avila, Christian Will, Gerd Pfister
      Pages 195-200
    16. L. E. Jones, R. D. Sandberg, N. D. Sandham
      Pages 201-206
    17. S. Klumpp, M. Meinke, W. Schröder
      Pages 207-212
    18. Marios Kotsonis, Leo Veldhuis, Hester Bijl
      Pages 219-224
    19. V. V. Kozlov, G. R. Grek, G. Kozlov, Yu. A. Litvinenko, A. Sorokin
      Pages 225-230
    20. Thomas Kurian, Jens H. M. Fransson, P. Henrik Alfredsson
      Pages 231-236
    21. Fei Li, Meelan M. Choudhari, Chau-Lyan Chang, Jack R. Edwards
      Pages 237-242
    22. Xuerui Mao, Spencer J. Sherwin
      Pages 247-252
    23. Daniel Marinc, Tobias M Schneider, Bruno Eckhardt
      Pages 253-258
    24. Fulvio Martinelli, Maurizio Quadrio, John McKernan, James F. Whidborne
      Pages 265-270
    25. Olaf Marxen, Gianluca Iaccarino, Eric S. G. Shaqfeh
      Pages 271-276
    26. Masaharu Matsubara, Kota Takaichi, Toshiaki Kenchi
      Pages 277-282
    27. Philippe Meliga, Denis Sipp, Jean-Marc Chomaz
      Pages 283-288
    28. Dominik Obrist, Peter J. Schmid
      Pages 295-300

About these proceedings


The origins of turbulent flow and the transition from laminar to turbulent flow are the most important unsolved problems of fluid mechanics and aerodynamics. Besides being a fundamental question of fluid mechanics, there are numerous applications relying on accurate information regarding transition location and the details of the subsequent turbulent flow. While considerable progress has been made in the understanding of laminar-turbulent transition over the last 30 years, the continuing increase in computer power as well as new theoretical developments are now revolutionizing the area.

This volume contains 110 papers of presentations delivered during the "Seventh IUTAM Symposium on Laminar-Turbulent Transition" in Stockholm, Sweden, June 2009. The areas of emphasis include:

Novel approaches to receptivity analysis and transition modelling.

Non-normal effects and global modes.

Stability of complex flows, such as non-Newtonian and miscible-interface flows.

Transition in simple shear flows and its relation to properties of non-linear dynamical systems.

Modern feedback control and design techniques applied to transition.

Transition in high-speed flows.

Direct and Large-Eddy Simulation of transition.

Applied Laminar Flow Control.


IUTAM Riblet experimental techniques flow control hydrodynamic stability numerical simulations of fluid flow transition to turbulence

Editors and affiliations

  • Philipp Schlatter
    • 1
  • Dan S. Henningson
    • 2
  1. 1.Dept. MechanicsKTHStockholmSweden
  2. 2.Dept. MechanicsKTHStockholmSweden

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer Science+Business Media B.V. 2010
  • Publisher Name Springer, Dordrecht
  • eBook Packages Engineering Engineering (R0)
  • Print ISBN 978-90-481-3722-0
  • Online ISBN 978-90-481-3723-7
  • Series Print ISSN 1875-3507
  • Series Online ISSN 1875-3493
  • Buy this book on publisher's site
Industry Sectors