Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
  2. Software Driven Networks, Virtualisation, Programmability and Autonomic Management

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 1-1
    2. Tom Anderson, Ken Birman, Robert Broberg, Matthew Caesar, Douglas Comer, Chase Cotton et al.
      Pages 16-26 Open Access
    3. Daisuke Matsubara, Takashi Egawa, Nozomu Nishinaga, Myung-Ki Shin, Ved P. Kafle, Alex Galis
      Pages 27-38 Open Access
    4. Kari Visala, Dmitrij Lagutin, Sasu Tarkoma
      Pages 39-51 Open Access
    5. Panagiotis Trakadas, Helen Leligou, Theodore Zahariadis, Panagiotis Karkazis, Lambros Sarakis
      Pages 52-63 Open Access
    6. Levente Csikor, Gábor Rétvári, János Tapolcai
      Pages 64-76 Open Access
    7. Christos Tranoris, Spyros Denazis, Nikos Mouratidis, Phelim Dowling, Joe Tynan
      Pages 77-88 Open Access
  3. Computing and Networking Clouds

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 89-89
    2. Roberto G. Cascella, Lorenzo Blasi, Yvon Jegou, Massimo Coppola, Christine Morin
      Pages 91-103 Open Access
    3. Allan Hanbury, Henning Müller, Georg Langs, Bjoern H. Menze
      Pages 104-114 Open Access
    4. Usman Wajid, César A. Marín, Nikolay Mehandjiev
      Pages 115-126 Open Access
    5. Martin Serrano, Danh Le-Phuoc, Maciej Zaremba, Alex Galis, Sami Bhiri, Manfred Hauswirth
      Pages 127-140 Open Access
    6. Pedro Martinez-Julia, Antonio F. Skarmeta, Alex Galis
      Pages 141-152 Open Access
    7. Stéphane Betgé-Brezetz, Aline Bousquet, Jérémy Briffaut, Eddy Caron, Laurent Clevy, Marie-Pascale Dupont et al.
      Pages 153-158 Open Access
  4. Internet of Things

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 159-159
    2. Sébastien Ziegler, Cedric Crettaz, Latif Ladid, Srdjan Krco, Boris Pokric, Antonio F. Skarmeta et al.
      Pages 161-172 Open Access
    3. Verónica Gutiérrez, Jose A. Galache, Luis Sánchez, Luis Muñoz, Jose M. Hernández-Muñoz, Joao Fernandes et al.
      Pages 173-186 Open Access
    4. Vassilis Foteinos, Dimitris Kelaidonis, George Poulios, Vera Stavroulaki, Panagiotis Vlacheas, Panagiotis Demestichas et al.
      Pages 187-199 Open Access
    5. Jakub Flotyński, Kamil Krysztofiak, Daniel Wilusz
      Pages 200-213 Open Access
    6. Jacek Chmielewski
      Pages 214-219 Open Access
    7. Angelika Salmen, Tobias Münch, Steffen Buzin, Jan Hladik, Werner Altmann, Conny Weber et al.
      Pages 220-232 Open Access
    8. Suparna De, Francois Carrez, Eike Reetz, Ralf Tönjes, Wei Wang
      Pages 233-245 Open Access
  5. Enabling Technologies and Economic Incentives

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 247-247
    2. Dietrich Zeller, Magnus Olsson, Oliver Blume, Albrecht Fehske, Dieter Ferling, William Tomaselli et al.
      Pages 249-271 Open Access
    3. Heiko Desruelle, Simon Isenberg, Dieter Blomme, Krishna Bangalore, Frank Gielen
      Pages 272-283 Open Access
    4. Firooz B. Saghezchi, Muhammad Alam, Ayman Radwan, Jonathan Rodriguez
      Pages 284-296 Open Access
    5. Michael Boniface, Philip Inglesant, Juri Papay
      Pages 297-309 Open Access
    6. Anne-Marie Oostveen, Eric T. Meyer, Brian Pickering
      Pages 310-322 Open Access
    7. Raffaele Bolla, Maurizio Giribaldi, Rafiullah Khan, Matteo Repetto
      Pages 323-335 Open Access
  6. Book Sponsoring Projects Overview

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 337-337
    2. Qianni Zhang, Noel E. O’Connor, Ebroul Izquierdo
      Pages 339-341 Open Access
    3. Ilkka Lakaniemi
      Pages 342-343 Open Access
    4. Sebastian Seeber
      Pages 344-345 Open Access
    5. Anna Tzanakaki, Sergi Figuerola, Joan A. García-Espín, Dimitra Simeonidou, Nicola Ciulli, Philip Robinson et al.
      Pages 346-349 Open Access
    6. Raffaele Giaffreda
      Pages 350-352 Open Access
    7. Sébastien Ziegler, Cedric Crettaz
      Pages 353-355 Open Access
    8. Almerima Jamakovic, Thomas Michael Bohnert, Georgios Karagiannis
      Pages 356-358 Open Access
    9. José M. Hernández-Muñoz, Luis Muñoz
      Pages 361-362 Open Access
    10. Laurent Ciavaglia
      Pages 363-366 Open Access
  7. Back Matter

About these proceedings


Co-editors of the volume are:

Federico Álvarez, Alessandro Bassi, Michele Bezzi, Laurent Ciavaglia, Frances Cleary, Petros Daras, Hermann De Meer, Panagiotis Demestichas, John Domingue, Theo G. Kanter, Stamatis Karnouskos, Srdjan Krčo, Laurent Lefevre, Jasper Lentjes, Man-Sze Li, Paul Malone, Antonio Manzalini, Volkmar Lotz, Henning Müller, Karsten Oberle, Noel E. O'Connor, Nick Papanikolaou, Dana Petcu, Rahim Rahmani, Danny Raz, Gaël Richards, Elio Salvadori, Susana Sargento, Hans Schaffers, Joan Serrat, Burkhard Stiller, Antonio F. Skarmeta, Kurt Tutschku, Theodore Zahariadis

The Internet is the most vital scientific, technical, economic and societal set of infrastructures in existence and in operation today serving 2.5 billion users. Continuing its developments would secure much of the upcoming innovation and prosperity and it would underpin the sustainable growth in economic values and volumes needed in the future. Future Internet infrastructures research is therefore a must.

The Future Internet Assembly (FIA) is a successful conference that brings together participants of over 150 research projects from several distinct yet interrelated areas in the European Union Framework Programme 7 (FP7). The research projects are grouped as follows: the network of the future as infrastructure connecting and orchestrating the future Internet of people, computers, devices, content, clouds and things; cloud computing, Internet of Services and advanced software engineering; the public-private partnership projects on Future Internet; Future Internet Research and Experimentation (FIRE).

The 26 full papers included in this volume were selected from 45 submissions. They are organized in topical sections named: software driven networks, virtualization, programmability and autonomic management; computing and networking clouds; internet of things; and enabling technologies and economic incentives.


cognitive management device-independent applications model-driven user interfaces software defined networking ubiquitous Web

Editors and affiliations

  • Alex Galis
    • 1
  • Anastasius Gavras
    • 2
  1. 1.Dept. of Electronic and Electrical EngineeringUniversity College LondonLondonUK
  2. 2.Eurescom GmbHHeidelbergGermany

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information The Editor(s) (if applicable) and the Author(s) 2013
  • License CC BY NC
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Computer Science
  • Print ISBN 978-3-642-38081-5
  • Online ISBN 978-3-642-38082-2
  • Series Print ISSN 0302-9743
  • Series Online ISSN 1611-3349
  • Buy this book on publisher's site
Industry Sectors
Finance, Business & Banking
IT & Software
Energy, Utilities & Environment
Oil, Gas & Geosciences