Stabilization, Safety, and Security of Distributed Systems

8th International Symposium, SSS 2006, Dallas, TX, USA, November 17-19, 2006. Proceedings

  • Ajoy K. Datta
  • Maria Gradinariu
Conference proceedings SSS 2006

Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 4280)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
  2. Invited Talks

    1. Shlomi Dolev, Yinnon Haviv
      Pages 1-15
    2. R. Guerraoui, N. Lynch
      Pages 16-34
  3. Regular Papers

    1. Mahesh Arumugam, Limin Wang, Sandeep S. Kulkarni
      Pages 50-64
    2. Roberto Baldoni, Rachid Guerraoui, Ron R. Levy, Vivien Quéma, Sara Tucci Piergiovanni
      Pages 65-81
    3. Joffroy Beauquier, Colette Johnen, Stéphane Messika
      Pages 82-94
    4. Joffroy Beauquier, Sylvie Delaët, Sammy Haddad
      Pages 95-109
    5. Borzoo Bonakdarpour, Sandeep S. Kulkarni
      Pages 122-136
    6. Christian Boulinier, Franck Petit, Vincent Villain
      Pages 137-151
    7. Olga Brukman, Shlomi Dolev
      Pages 152-168
    8. Benoit Claudel, Noël De Palma, Renaud Lachaize, Daniel Hagimont
      Pages 184-198
    9. Alain Cournier, Stéphane Devismes, Vincent Villain
      Pages 199-213
    10. Praveen Danturi, Mikhail Nesterenko, Sébastien Tixeuil
      Pages 214-230
    11. Anurag Dasgupta, Sukumar Ghosh, Sébastien Tixeuil
      Pages 231-243
    12. Abhishek Dhama, Oliver Theel, Timo Warns
      Pages 244-261
    13. Yoann Dieudonné, Ouiddad Labbani-Igbida, Franck Petit
      Pages 262-275
    14. Shlomi Dolev, Reuven Yagel
      Pages 276-289
    15. Mohamed G. Gouda, Jorge A. Cobb, Chin-Tser Huang
      Pages 304-313
    16. Mohamed G. Gouda, Sandeep S. Kulkarni, Ehab S. Elmallah
      Pages 314-323
    17. Kajari Ghosh Dastidar, Ted Herman, Colette Johnen
      Pages 324-334
    18. Ezra N. Hoch, Danny Dolev, Ariel Daliot
      Pages 350-362
    19. Shing-Tsaan Huang, Chi-Hung Tzeng
      Pages 363-377
    20. Michel Hurfin, Jean-Pierre Le Narzul, Frédéric Majorczyk, Ludovic Mé, Ayda Saidane, Eric Totel et al.
      Pages 378-394
    21. William Leal, Sandip Bapat, Taewoo Kwon, Pihui Wei, Anish Arora
      Pages 395-410
    22. Fredrik Manne, Morten Mjelde
      Pages 428-439
    23. Toshimitsu Masuzawa, Sébastien Tixeuil
      Pages 440-453
    24. Toshimitsu Masuzawa, Sébastien Tixeuil
      Pages 454-468
    25. Jehan-François Pâris, Thomas J. E. Schwarz, Darrell D. E. Long
      Pages 469-483
    26. Samia Souissi, Xavier Défago, Masafumi Yamashita
      Pages 484-500
    27. Chi-Hung Tzeng, Jehn-Ruey Jiang, Shing-Tsaan Huang
      Pages 501-515
    28. Yukiko Yamauchi, Sayaka Kamei, Fukuhito Ooshita, Yoshiaki Katayama, Hirotsugu Kakugawa, Toshimitsu Masuzawa
      Pages 516-532
    29. Wei Yu, Nan Zhang, Wei Zhao
      Pages 548-562
  4. Brief Announcement

    1. Iching Boman, Jared Saia, Chaouki T. Abdallah, Edl Schamiloglu
      Pages 563-565
    2. Borzoo Bonakdarpour, Sandeep S. Kulkarni, Fuad Abujarad
      Pages 566-567
    3. Thomas Herault, Pierre Lemarinier, Olivier Peres, Laurence Pilard, Joffroy Beauquier
      Pages 574-575
    4. Martin Hutle, Dahlia Malkhi, Ulrich Schmid, Lidong Zhou
      Pages 576-577
    5. Scott M. Pike, Yantao Song, Kaustav Ghoshal
      Pages 578-579

About these proceedings


This symposium has been the main forum for presentation of research results in the area of self-* for 17 years. It started as The Workshop on Self-Stabilizing Systems (WSS), and met in 1989 in Austin, 1995 in Las Vegas, 1997 in Santa Barbara, 1999 in Austin, and 2001 in Lisbon. It was then renamed The S- posium on Self-Stabilizing Systems (SSS), and has since met in 2003 in San Francisco, and in 2005 in Barcelona, Spain. This year,we extended the scope of the symposium to cover all safety and - curity related aspects of self-* systems. The title of the symposium was changed to the International Symposium on Stabilization, Safety, and Security of D- tributed Systems (SSS) to re?ect this expansion. The decision by Mohamed Gouda, the General Chair, to expand the scope of the symposium was timely and successful. From 33 papers submitted for SSS 2005, the number of submissions increased to 155. Reviewing this surge of s- missions to select the ?nal set of papers for the symposium was a monumental taskfor the ProgramCommittee. The 61 ProgramCommittee membersdevoted countless hours reading and evaluating the papers. But even this e?ort was not enough; we recruited 143 external reviewers, whose work was also very subst- tial.


Radio-Frequency Identification (RFID) ad-hoc networks adaptive slef-stabilization adaptive systems authentication autonomic computing dependability disstributed systems distributed algorithms formal methods group communication informat knowledge robot verification

Editors and affiliations

  • Ajoy K. Datta
    • 1
  • Maria Gradinariu
    • 2
  1. 1.School of Computer ScienceUniversity of Nevada Las Vegas 
  2. 2.LIP6INRIA-Université Paris 6France

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2006
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Computer Science Computer Science (R0)
  • Print ISBN 978-3-540-49018-0
  • Online ISBN 978-3-540-49823-0
  • Series Print ISSN 0302-9743
  • Series Online ISSN 1611-3349
  • Buy this book on publisher's site
Industry Sectors
Materials & Steel
Chemical Manufacturing
Finance, Business & Banking
IT & Software
Consumer Packaged Goods
Energy, Utilities & Environment
Oil, Gas & Geosciences