New Technologies in Urology

  • Prokar Dasgupta
  • John Fitzpatrick
  • Roger Kirby
  • Inderbir S. Gill

Part of the New Techniques in Surgery Series book series (NEWTECHN, volume 7)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xxiv
  2. Robots

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 1-1
    2. Rafael Ferreira Coelho, Geoff Coughlin, Vipul R. Patel
      Pages 3-10
    3. Prokar Dasgupta, Oussama Elhage, Peter Rimington, Mohammad Shamim Khan
      Pages 11-18
    4. Michael Ferrandino, Arthur Caire, David M. Albala
      Pages 19-26
    5. Brian H. Irwin, Monish Aron, Inderbir Gill
      Pages 27-36
    6. Wesley M. White, Jihad H. Kaouk
      Pages 37-42
    7. Ben Challacombe, Kaspar Althoefer, Dan Stoianovici
      Pages 49-56
  3. Lasers

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 57-57
    2. Ranan DasGupta, Nicholas Hegarty
      Pages 67-70
    3. Naomi Smith, Kay Thomas
      Pages 71-78
    4. Troy Gianduzzo
      Pages 79-89
  4. Other New Technologies

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 91-91
    2. Alastair Henderson, Mohamed Ismail, John Davies
      Pages 93-103
    3. Frédéric Pouliot, Jeffrey C. LaRochelle, Thomas J. Polascik, Arie S. Belldegrun
      Pages 105-113
    4. Chad R. Tracy, Jeffrey A. Cadeddu
      Pages 115-122
    5. Hashim Uddin Ahmed, Caroline Moore, Manit Arya, Mark Emberton
      Pages 133-146
    6. Shahin Chandrasoma, Roger De Filippo
      Pages 147-154
    7. David M. Hartke, Lee E. Ponsky
      Pages 155-159
    8. Sijo J. Parekattil
      Pages 161-164
    9. José R Colombo Jr, Monish Aron Jr., Inderbir Gill
      Pages 165-173
  5. Laparoscopic New Technologies

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 185-185
    2. Patrick Kenney, Justin Gould, Sheaumei Tsai, David Canes
      Pages 187-196
    3. Brian H. Irwin, Pradeep P. Rao, Mihir J. Stein, Robert M. Desai
      Pages 197-208
    4. D. Nageshwar Reddy, G. V. Rao, M. J. Mansard
      Pages 209-214
    5. Osamu Ukimura, Masahiko Nakamoto, Yoshinobu Sato, Makoto Hashizume, Tsuneharu Miki, Mihir Desai et al.
      Pages 215-222
    6. Gareth Bydawell, Pippa Skippage, Uday Patel
      Pages 223-233
    7. Charalampos Mamoulakis, Vassilios Tzortzis, Jorge Rioja Zuazu, Maria P. Laguna Pes, Stavros Gravas, Hessel Wijkstra et al.
      Pages 235-250
    8. Shu Pan, Mohamed A. Atalla, Louis R. Kavoussi
      Pages 251-257
    9. James Brewin, Tim Nedas
      Pages 259-267
    10. Declan G. Murphy, Anthony J. Costello
      Pages 269-274
  6. Back Matter
    Pages 275-279

About this book


Extensively and thoroughly written, New Technologies in Urology offers a definitive guide to the ever-changing and expanding landscape of available tools, methods and techniques for urological practice.

This book’s authorship of highly acclaimed experts in the field ensures that the reader enjoys not only a comprehensive but a highly authoritative report on the latest technological developments in urology and their applications.

Including coverage of laser prostatectomy, flexible robotics, prostate focal therapy and renal cryo-ablation, New Technologies in Urology brings the reader the very cutting edge of technologies in the urological field.

Professor Prokar Dasgupta MSc(Urol) MD FRCS(Urol) FEBU is Chair in Robotic Surgery and Urological Innovation at Guy's Hospital, King's College London, where he pioneered modern robotic urological surgery in the UK. He has also been awarded the prestigious Karl Storz-Harold Hopkins Golden Telescope award by the British Association of Urological Surgeons for his significant and lasting contribution to urology.

Professor John Fitzpatrick MD is a Consultant Urologist and Professor of Surgery at the Surgical Professorial Unit, University College Dublin. He is, amongst many other positions, President of the Irish Society Urology and is immediate Past President of the British Association of Urological Surgeons.

Professor Roger Kirby MA MD FRCS FEBU is Clinical Director (Prostate Health) and Registered Provider of The Prostate Centre, London, UK.  He is an internationally recognised authority on prostate cancer, benign prostatic hyperplasia and erectile dysfunction. 

Dr Inderbir S. Gill MD MCh is Chairman, Department of Urology and Associate Dean for Clinical Innovation at the Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, USA. He is a world-renowned leader in urologic surgery.


Laparoscopy Lasers Robotics Surgery Urology endoscopy

Editors and affiliations

  • Prokar Dasgupta
    • 1
  • John Fitzpatrick
    • 2
  • Roger Kirby
    • 3
  • Inderbir S. Gill
    • 4
    • 5
  1. 1.Department of Urology Guy’s HospitalMedical Research Council (MRC) Centre for Transplantation King’s College LondonLondonUK
  2. 2.Department of SurgeryUniversity College Dublin Mater Misericordiae HospitalDublinIreland
  3. 3.Prostate CentreLondonUK
  4. 4.Los AngelesSouth Africa
  5. 5.Keck School of MedicineUSA

Bibliographic information

Industry Sectors
Health & Hospitals