Neuroreceptor Mechanisms in Brain

  • Shozo Kito
  • Tomio Segawa
  • Richard W. Olsen

Part of the Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology book series (AEMB, volume 287)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xii
  2. Hiro-o Kamiya, Yukio Takano, Akira Nagashima
    Pages 27-37
  3. Shuji Uchida, Kenji Takami, Hideyuki Kobayashi, Kazuya Hashimoto, Naoko Matsumoto
    Pages 39-50
  4. Norio Matsubara, Andrew P. Billington, Hou Chang Chen, Anthony P. Guzikowski, Katherine W. Johnson, Doraiswamy Ramesh et al.
    Pages 75-82
  5. Katsuhiko Mikoshiba, Teiichi Furuichi, Nobuaki Maeda, Shingo Yoshikawa, Atsushi Miyawaki, Michio Niinobe et al.
    Pages 83-95
  6. M. Satoh, H. Ueda, S. Tamura, Y. Yoshihara, N. Fukushima
    Pages 97-110
  7. Nobuyuki Sasakawa, Toshio Nakaki, Ryuichi Kato
    Pages 111-123
  8. Haruaki Ninomiya, Takashi Taniguchi, Motohatsu Fujiwara
    Pages 125-139
  9. Toshihide Nukada
    Pages 141-149
  10. Yasuyuki Nomura, Yoshihisa Kitamura, Michihisa Tohda, Shin-ichi Imai, Toshiaki Katada, Michio Ui
    Pages 151-164
  11. Gilles Fillion, Pascal Barone, Isabelle Cloëz, Marie-Paule Fillion, Catherine Harel, Olivier Massot et al.
    Pages 165-176
  12. J. S. Kelly, P. Larkman, N. J. Penington, D. G. Rainnie, H. McAllister-Williams, J. Hodgkiss
    Pages 177-191
  13. D. J. Woodward, H. C. Moises, B. D. Waterhouse, H. H. Yeh, J. E. Cheun
    Pages 193-208
  14. Catherine D. Strader, Richard A. F. Dixon
    Pages 209-220
  15. James K. Wamsley, Ted M. Dawson, Valina L. Dawson, Mary A. Hunt, Lisa J. Fisher, Fred H. Gage
    Pages 221-235
  16. Juei-Tang Cheng, Jui-Ting Tsai
    Pages 237-240
  17. Hitoshi Shinotoh, Akiyo Aotsuka, Osamu Inoue, Kazutoshi Suzuki, Hiroshi Fukuda, Masaomi Iyo et al.
    Pages 249-253
  18. Jon Lindstrom, Ralf Schoepfer, William Conroy, Paul Whiting, Manoj Das, Mohammad Saedi et al.
    Pages 255-278
  19. Hitoshi Nakayama, Jon Lindstrom, Toshikatsu Nakashima, Yutaka Kurogochi
    Pages 295-299
  20. Josephine Lai, Thomas L. Smith, Lin Mei, Masaaki Ikeda, Yutaka Fujiwara, Jorge Gomez et al.
    Pages 313-330
  21. Richard W. Olsen, Michel Bureau, Shuichi Endo, Geoffrey Smith, Lynn Deng, Douglas Sapp et al.
    Pages 355-364
  22. Allan J. Tobin, Michel Khrestchatisky, A. John MacLennan, Ming-Yi Chiang, Niranjala J. K. Tillakaratne, Wentao Xu et al.
    Pages 365-374
  23. G. Biggio, E. Sanna, M. Serra, G. P. Serra, A. Concas
    Pages 391-404
  24. F. J. Ferstl, M. Cordes, I. Cordes, H. Henkes, W. Christe, H. Eichstädt et al.
    Pages 405-412
  25. Kohtaro Taniyama, Koichiro Takeda, Hiroshi Ando, Chikako Tanaka
    Pages 413-420
  26. H. Betz, D. Langosch, W. Hoch, P. Prior, I. Pribilla, J. Kuhse et al.
    Pages 421-429
  27. Raymond Dingledine, Nancy W. Kleckner, Christopher J. McBain
    Pages 441-453
  28. Bjarke Ebert, Ulf Madsen, Tommy Nørskov Johansen, Povl Krogsgaard-Larsen
    Pages 483-487
  29. Back Matter
    Pages 489-498

About this book


The Third International Symposium on Neurotransmitter Receptors was held in Hiroshima at a time when the entire field of neurotransmitter receptors in the brain is progressing at an unprecedented pace. The sym­ posium also marked my retirement as Professor and Chairman of the Third Department of Internal Medicine, Hiroshima University School of Medicine, and a new beginning as a Professor of the University of the Air. The symposium was remarkably successful, and there were enthusiastic responses from scientists allover the world, proving that the meeting was timely. The selected papers contained in this volume constitute a state­ of-the-art survey of the most advanced aspects of neurotransmitter recep­ tor mechanisms in the brain. lowe thanks for the great success of the symposium to Prof. Richard Olsen of UCLA, Prof. Tomio Segawa of Hiroshima University, Prof. Kinya Kuriyama of Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine, and Prof. Masaya Tohyama of Osaka University. I express my sincere gratitude to many friends for making this publication possible. I especially thank Dr. Rie Miyoshi, whose devoted efforts as secretary-general were vital to the success of the symposium. Dr. Miyoshi is currently an instructor in the Department of Pharmacology at Tokyo Women's Medical College. I would also like to acknowledge the excellent secretarial work of Misses Ritsuko Sato and Yuko Wakita.


Amino acid Calcium Epilepsie Glutamat Nervous System adenosine dopamine gene expression neurons neuropeptides primary structure

Editors and affiliations

  • Shozo Kito
    • 1
  • Tomio Segawa
    • 2
  • Richard W. Olsen
    • 3
  1. 1.Division of Health SciencesUniversity of the AirChiba 260Japan
  2. 2.Department of Pharmacology Institute of Pharmaceutical SciencesHiroshima University School of MedicineMinami-ku Hiroshima 734Japan
  3. 3.Department of Pharmacology Center for Health SciencesUniversity of California-Los Angeles School of MedicineLos AngelesUSA

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag US 1991
  • Publisher Name Springer, Boston, MA
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-1-4684-5909-8
  • Online ISBN 978-1-4684-5907-4
  • Series Print ISSN 0065-2598
  • Buy this book on publisher's site
Industry Sectors
Health & Hospitals
Pharmacology & Toxicology
Consumer Packaged Goods