Physics of the Hot Plasma in the Magnetosphere

  • Bengt Hultqvist
  • Lennart Stenflo

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-x
  2. Introductory Lecture

  3. Entry of the Hot Plasma into the Magnetosphere

    1. Gerhard Haerendel, Götz Paschmann
      Pages 23-43
    2. R. G. Johnson, R. D. Sharp, E. G. Shelley
      Pages 45-68
  4. Distribution within the Magnetosphere and Large Scale Dynamical Processes

  5. Accleration/Heating and Instabilities/Turbulence

  6. Interaction with the Ionosphere

  7. Back Matter
    Pages 363-369

About this book


Nobel Symposium No. 30 on the Physics of the Hot Plasma in the Magnetosphere was held at Kiruna Geophysical Institute, Kiruna, Sweden from April 2-4, 1975. Some 40 leading experts from America, USSR, and Western Europe attended the Symposium. The purpose of the meeting was to review and discuss the physics of the hot plasma in the magnetosphere with special empha­ sis on unsolved problems on which attention needs to be focused during the International Magnetospheric Study 1976-1978. The field is very extensive and complete coverage of all aspects was of course not possible. The radiation belts proper were, for instance, not covered. There were no formal contributed papers, but much time was devoted to discussion. These proceedings contain all review papers except the one by R.Z. Sagdeev. They are ordered by subject, starting, after the introductory lecture, with the problem of how the plasma enters the magnetosphere and ending with the question of the interaction with the ionosphere. The Organizing Committee for the symposium was composed of the following Swedish scientists: E.-A. Brunberg, C.G. Fa1thammar, I. Hu1then, B. Hu1tqvist (chairman), L. Stenf10, and H. Wilhe1msson. The Symposium was financed by the Nobel Foundation through grants from the Tercentenary Foundation of the Bank of Sweden, by the Swedish Board for Space Activities, and the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which is gratefully acknowledged. Appreciated contributions "in natura" were also received from the town of Kiruna and the LKAB Company.


Plasma electron ionosphere magnetosphere paper physics radiation

Editors and affiliations

  • Bengt Hultqvist
    • 1
  • Lennart Stenflo
    • 2
  1. 1.Kiruna Geophysical InstituteKirunaSweden
  2. 2.Department of Plasma PhysicsUmeå UniversityUmeåSweden

Bibliographic information

Industry Sectors
Energy, Utilities & Environment