© 1999

Charlotte Brontë: The Novels

  • Authors

Part of the Analysing Texts book series (ANATX)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-viii
  2. Analysis

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 1-1
    2. Mike Edwards
      Pages 3-36
    3. Mike Edwards
      Pages 37-63
    4. Mike Edwards
      Pages 64-86
    5. Mike Edwards
      Pages 87-109
    6. Mike Edwards
      Pages 110-133
    7. Mike Edwards
      Pages 134-168
    8. Mike Edwards
      Pages 169-192
  3. The Context and the Critics

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 193-193
    2. Mike Edwards
      Pages 195-201
    3. Mike Edwards
      Pages 202-210
    4. Mike Edwards
      Pages 211-221
  4. Back Matter
    Pages 222-230

About this book


A practical approach to Charlotte Brontë's best- known novels, which shows how coherent criticism can be evolved from close reading. The intention is to help students develop skills in practical criticism and encourage them to follow through their ideas. The major part of the book contains worked examples, with detailed guidance and suggestions for further work which will be useful for both teachers and students. There is additional material on Brontë's background, and on critical views of her work. The novels covered are Jane Eyre, Shirley and Vilette.


Bronte Charlotte Bronte dance drama intention novel religion women

About the authors

MIKE EDWARDS is a retired Lecturer of English. His last post was Senior Lecturer in English and Head of Humanities at Crosskeys College, Gwent.

Bibliographic information