© 1998

Inside the Bundesbank

  • Stephen F. Frowen
  • Robert Pringle

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xxii
  2. Hans Tietmeyer
    Pages 1-10
  3. Reiner König, Caroline Willeke
    Pages 20-31
  4. Peter Schmid
    Pages 32-44
  5. Jürgen Becker
    Pages 56-67
  6. Norbert Kloten
    Pages 110-119
  7. Stephen F. Frowen, Robert Pringle
    Pages 174-180
  8. Back Matter
    Pages 181-188

About this book


The Bundesbank is one of the world's most powerful and successful central banks, outstanding for its independence in the conduct of monetary policy and for its success in the achievement of relative price stability virtually throughout the post-war era. This collection of essays by the President of the Bundesbank, by former and present Board members and by Heads of Department within the Bundesbank offer a rare inside insight into its operations. The individual contributions to this volume explain the historical, legal and institutional basis of German internal and external monetary policy and highlight the goals of the German central bank and its role in the economy as a whole. The role of the Deutschmark as one of the leading international transaction, reserve and investment currencies is discussed in detail. Students of monetary management and the banking community throughout the world will benefit greatly from a study of this unique volume.


bank banking investment monetary policy

Editors and affiliations

  • Stephen F. Frowen
    • 1
    • 2
  • Robert Pringle
    • 3
  1. 1.Department of EconomicsUniversity College LondonUK
  2. 2.Monetary EconomicsFree University of BerlinGermany
  3. 3.Central BankingGermany

About the editors

JURGEN BECKER Head, Deutsche Bundesbank's Department of Banking and Minimum Reserves CAROLA GEBHARD Assistant Managing Editor, Central Banking Publications LEONHARD GLESKE Deputy Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Bank of Tokyo (Deutschland) AG, Frankfurt OTMAR ISSING Member of the Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank NORBERT KLOTEN Chairman of the Economic Advisory Council, Federal Ministry of Economics REINER KONIG Head, Department of Economics, Deutsche Bundesbank PETER SCHMID Head of the Money, Credit and Capital Market Division, Deutsche Bundesbank HANS TIETMEYER President of the Deutsche Bundesbank BERTOLD WAHLIG Head of the Law Department at the Deutsche Bundesbank CAROLINE WILLEKE Economist, Monetary Analysis Section, Money, Credit and Capital Markets Division, Deutsche Bundesbank

Bibliographic information

Industry Sectors
Finance, Business & Banking