British and Irish Political Drama in the Twentieth Century

Implicating the Audience

  • Authors
  • David Ian Rabey

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-x
  2. David Ian Rabey
    Pages 1-7
  3. Bernard Shaw, Sean O’casey
    Pages 28-41
  4. Erwin Pisgator, Bertolt Brecht
    Pages 42-56
  5. John Galsworthy, G. K. Munro, W. Somerset Maugham, C. Day Lewis, Stephen Spender, W. H. Auden et al.
    Pages 57-77
  6. John Osborne, Arnold Wesker, Brendan Behan, Tom McGrath, Jimmy Boyle
    Pages 78-98
  7. John Arden, Margaretta D’Arcy, Edward Bond
    Pages 99-117
  8. Peter Weiss, Trevor Griffiths, Robert Bolt, Tom Stoppard, C. P. Taylor, Christopher Hampton et al.
    Pages 118-133
  9. Heathcote Williams, Trevor Griffiths, Howard Brenton, Howard Barker, Barrie Keeffe
    Pages 134-165
  10. David Hare, David Edgar
    Pages 166-187
  11. Brian Friel, Martin Lynch, Peter Whelan, Caryl Churchill, Stephen Poliakoff, Peter Flannery et al.
    Pages 188-208
  12. David Ian Rabey
    Pages 209-215
  13. Back Matter
    Pages 216-237

About this book


20th century drama twentieth century

Bibliographic information