FST TCS 2002: Foundations of Software Technology and Theoretical Computer Science

22nd Conference Kanpur, India, December 12–14, 2002 Proceedings

  • Manindra Agrawal
  • Anil Seth
Conference proceedings FSTTCS 2002

Part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science book series (LNCS, volume 2556)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages I-XI
  2. Invited Papers

  3. Contributed Papers

    1. Bharat Adsul, Milind Sohoni
      Pages 47-58
    2. Hans-Joachim Böckenhauer, Dirk Bongartz, Juraj Hromkovič, Ralf Klasing, Guido Proietti, Sebastian Seibert et al.
      Pages 59-70
    3. Michele Bugliesi, Silvia Crafa, Massimo Merro, Vladimiro Sassone
      Pages 71-84
    4. Giuseppe Castagna, Francesco Zappa Nardelli
      Pages 85-96
    5. Federico Crazzolara, Glynn Winskel
      Pages 97-108
    6. Stéphane Demri, Deepak D’souza
      Pages 121-132
    7. Joan Feigenbaum, Arvind Krishnamurthy, Rahul Sami, Scott Shenker
      Pages 133-144
    8. Jens Gramm, Jiong Guo, Rolf Niedermeier
      Pages 182-193
    9. Thanh Minh Hoang, Thomas Thierauf
      Pages 206-217
    10. Rahul Jain, Jaikumar Radhakrishnan, Pranab Sen
      Pages 218-229
    11. Ralf Küsters, Thomas Wilke
      Pages 241-252
    12. Martin Leucker, P. Madhusudan, Supratik Mukhopadhyay
      Pages 253-264
    13. S. Mishra, Jaikumar Radhakrishnan, S. Sivasubramanian
      Pages 277-288
    14. Walter Vogler, Ralf Wollowski
      Pages 336-347
  4. Back Matter
    Pages 361-361

About these proceedings


This volume consists of the proceedings of the 22nd International Conference on the Foundations of Software Technology and Theoretical Computer Science (FSTTCS 2002), organized under the auspices of the Indian Association for Research in Computing Science (IARCS). The conference was held at the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur during December 12–14, 2002. The conference attracted 108 submissions (of which two were withdrawn). Of these, a total of 26 papers were selected for presentation in the conference. As in the last year, the PC meeting was held electronically (stretching over nearly three weeks in August 2002) and was a great success. In addition to the contributed papers, we had ?ve invited speakers this year: Hendrik Lenstra, Jr., Harry Mairson, Dale Miller, Chih-Hao Luke Ong, and Margus Veanes. We thank them for accepting our invitation and for providing abstracts (or even full papers) for the proceedings. Two workshops were organized in conjunction with the conference – both in Kanpur. A workshop on Parameterized Complexity was held during December 10–11, organized by Mike Fellows and Venkatesh Raman. The second workshop actually consisted of three miniworkshops: on Coding Theory by Madhu Sudan; on Finite Field Algorithms by Hendrik Lenstra, Jr.; and on Sieve Theory by R. Balasubramanian. We wish to thank all the reviewers and PC members who contributed greatly to making the conference a success. We also wish to thank the team at Springer- Verlag for their help in preparing the proceedings.


Algorithms Approximation Computer Science Logic Computing Theory Formal Methods Mathematical Logic Optimization Program Semantics Programming Calculi Programming Theory Theoretical Computer Science algorithmics computer computer science programming

Editors and affiliations

  • Manindra Agrawal
    • 1
  • Anil Seth
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of Computer Science and EngineeringIndian Institute of TechnologyKanpurIndia

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2002
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Springer Book Archive
  • Print ISBN 978-3-540-00225-3
  • Online ISBN 978-3-540-36206-7
  • Series Print ISSN 0302-9743
  • Buy this book on publisher's site
Industry Sectors
Chemical Manufacturing
IT & Software
Finance, Business & Banking
Energy, Utilities & Environment